Archie A3000 inbound

Blogs & guides and tales of woo by forum members.
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1212
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

I've been quite busy these last days, but found some time today to continue my Archie A3000 project:

Podules.JPG
Podules.JPG (323.38 KiB) Viewed 134 times
Podules2.JPG
Podules2.JPG (444.95 KiB) Viewed 134 times

I now have to shorten the pins of the Ethernet podule in order to lower its height and be able to close the upper lid, and then solder header sockets and connect a ZIDFES IDE as a 3rd podule.

Hope to finish everything within this month.
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10600
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by rubber_jonnie »

HigashiJun wrote: Tue Apr 02, 2024 9:53 am I've been quite busy these last days, but found some time today to continue my Archie A3000 project:


Podules.JPG

Podules2.JPG


I now have to shorten the pins of the Ethernet podule in order to lower its height and be able to close the upper lid, and then solder header sockets and connect a ZIDFES IDE as a 3rd podule.

Hope to finish everything within this month.
Nice. Looks packed in there though!

Any joy with the ethernet yet?
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1212
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

@rubber_jonnie

Thanks !

I want to install all the podules before trying Ethernet.

I will let you know for sure.
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1212
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

And the short pins are soldered:

Podules3.JPG
Podules3.JPG (322.21 KiB) Viewed 124 times

Next steps tomorrow if time allows...

8-)
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10600
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by rubber_jonnie »

HigashiJun wrote: Tue Apr 02, 2024 11:52 am @rubber_jonnie

Thanks !

I want to install all the podules before trying Ethernet.

I will let you know for sure.
Good stuff.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10600
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by rubber_jonnie »

HigashiJun wrote: Tue Apr 02, 2024 11:53 am And the short pins are soldered:


Podules3.JPG


Next steps tomorrow if time allows...

8-)
:girldance:
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1212
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

Ok, everything is done now:

Podules4.JPG
Podules4.JPG (521.64 KiB) Viewed 82 times

Time to buy a new ZIDEFS IDE, as I don't feel like messing again with the one I bought previously.
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1212
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

And the final result would be something like this:

Podules5.JPG
Podules5.JPG (293 KiB) Viewed 65 times
Podules6.JPG
Podules6.JPG (217.49 KiB) Viewed 65 times

I will however have to file a bit the upper lid in order to let the RJ45 connector fit under the hood.

An opening will be performed above the User Port to have access to the R45 connector and the LED will be also moved somewhere else (I guess the hole on the left near the User Port is a perfect place).

The ZIDEFS IDE drive will lay horizontally, and I will probably have to file the plastic post inside the Archie.

More to come later.
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10600
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by rubber_jonnie »

That's a very snug fit for sure!

Is the user port an analog of the BBC user port?
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1212
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

@rubber_jonnie

I guess these ports are remainders of the Acorn BBC, but I have no idea what their exact purpose is.

I wanted MIDI ports, and the Morley MIDI podule is the only expansion allowing to fit an Ethernet podule at a good height (the AKA12 has bigger MIDI connectors, and the Ethernet podule would sit too high).
Post Reply

Return to “MEMBER BLOGS”