Archie A3000 inbound

Blogs & guides and tales of woo by forum members.
Post Reply
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1212
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

Been a while since my last post, but as always life comes in...

While giving my STE related issues and my Falcon project a break, I have received my new toy:

A3000.JPG
A3000.JPG (268.5 KiB) Viewed 8479 times

It took me a whole day to clean the beast (case, keyboard and motherboard) and make it more presentable.

While cleaning all this stuff, I noticed nasty solder joints under the ROM sockets (with some non factory bodge wires) and keyboard connectors, which I will definitely have to repair. I don't know what the previous owner did to this poor machine, but the board was sticky as hell at the places where the dirty solder job was performed.

A3000 bodges.JPG
A3000 bodges.JPG (525.93 KiB) Viewed 8479 times

And as expected, the keyboard ribbon connector is also starting to peel and thus have to be repaired.

I only hope to have enough time to deal with that newcomer as soon as possible.
User avatar
chronicthehedgehog
Posts: 224
Joined: Sun May 08, 2022 6:11 pm
Location: The Midlands
Contact:

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by chronicthehedgehog »

Very nice. I'd like one of those myself. They seem reasonably priced at the mo as well
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1212
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

Yes, when shipped inside UK.

Shipping outside UK is quite pricey.
User avatar
Badwolf
Posts: 2242
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by Badwolf »

Cool!

I've an A3000 which I played with extensively before I decided to make a Falcon booster (that feels like years ago).

I had to do some repair work around the battery (which is standard, alas) and I needed to replace the NVRAM chip in the same area (confusingly called the CMOS chip in Acorn world) before it would boot.

I rigged it up with a DE9 mouse port on the rear (connected to the conveniently placed spare mouse header, also down near the battery) which I wired as Atari-compatible using the right mouse button for middle, which solved the mouse problem (right mouse is hardly ever used in Acorn world and the mice are pricey as hell).

The keyboard is beautiful to work with, although mine is a bit chipped. I was hoping to do some software dev on it and got it all set up with internet access and a dev environment but the filesystem was so alien to me, I didn't get very far. I still hope to do something with it in the future, but there are probably literally a couple of dozen other things that need to be worked on first :)

Enjoy it! She's in much better nick than mine.

BW
DFB1 Open source 50MHz 030 and TT-RAM accelerator for the Falcon
DSTB1 Open source 16Mhz 68k and AltRAM accelerator for the ST
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
FrontBench The Frontier: Elite 2 intro as a benchmark
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10600
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by rubber_jonnie »

Do these have an on board battery? My A5000 suffered badly from a leaky battery.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1212
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

@rubber_jonnie

Yes, these ones have also an onboard battery.

Your A5000 related thread was really interesting.

@Badwolf

Good to know you managed to repair your machine.

Mine had the battery already removed, so there is no apparent leaking damage on the board.

I suspect other issues due to bad soldering.
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10600
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by rubber_jonnie »

HigashiJun wrote: Tue Aug 08, 2023 1:36 pm @rubber_jonnie

Yes, these ones have also an onboard battery.

Your A5000 related thread was really interesting.

@Badwolf

Good to know you managed to repair your machine.

Mine had the battery already removed, so there is no apparent leaking damage on the board.

I suspect other issues due to bad soldering.
No battery = good news :)
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1212
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

rubber_jonnie wrote: Tue Aug 08, 2023 1:38 pm No battery = good news :)
Yes indeed.

Here's what it looked before I cleaned it up:

RTC.jpg
RTC.jpg (364.83 KiB) Viewed 8453 times
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10600
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by rubber_jonnie »

HigashiJun wrote: Tue Aug 08, 2023 1:47 pm
rubber_jonnie wrote: Tue Aug 08, 2023 1:38 pm No battery = good news :)
Yes indeed.

Here's what it looked before I cleaned it up:


RTC.jpg
Nice, somebody did you a big favour when they pulled that out in a timely fashion.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1212
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: Archie A3000 inbound

Post by HigashiJun »

rubber_jonnie wrote: Tue Aug 08, 2023 2:14 pm Nice, somebody did you a big favour when they pulled that out in a timely fashion.
For sure ! It saves a lot of precious time.
Post Reply

Return to “MEMBER BLOGS”