A5000 - diving in at the deep end!

Blogs & guides and tales of woo by forum members.
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1270
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: A5000 - diving in at the deep end!

Post by HigashiJun »

8-)
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10763
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: A5000 - diving in at the deep end!

Post by rubber_jonnie »

It's been a busy couple of days for the postie, today I received the 10Base2 stuff I need for further testing of the NIC on the A5000:

PXL_20231104_105731529.jpg
PXL_20231104_105731529.jpg (337.03 KiB) Viewed 526 times

I'll have to reset the jumpers on the NIC so it runs over BNC, which I am told by CJE was tested and working. Fingers crossed for a positive result.

I think I also need to find out if the AUI adaptor works.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10763
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: A5000 - diving in at the deep end!

Post by rubber_jonnie »

And in a slightly unexpected turn of events, and when I was about to give up, I get this:

PXL_20231109_132508987.jpg
PXL_20231109_132508987.jpg (271.69 KiB) Viewed 478 times

Here's how I did it.
  1. Formatted the primary drive and dropped in the uniboot folder from CJE.
  2. Set the drive to be bootable with the *opt 4,2 command.
  3. Dropped the skeleton !boot file from CJE containing the drivers etc over !boot.
  4. Rebooted
  5. Configured the network settings using !inetsetup. I used 192.168.1.150 as the IP
  6. Rebooted.
And it worked...

Then I thought, can I repeat this, so I did, used 192.168.1.200 as the IP, and it doesn't work anymore...

Then I changed the IP back to 192.168.1.150. Guess what, it works. Before anybody asks, 192.168.1.200 is a valid IP for my network, and it isn't in use. 192.168.1.199 doesn't work, but 192.168.1.180 does. Go figure.

So I've set it to an address within the range of my network, but outside of the DHCP range (All the other addresses were inside of it) and it's still working. I'm 100% sure there was no IP clash BTW.

What's different is that e1info now gives me totally different results.

For info, this is connected to a 10Mbit hub using coaxial cable and from the hub to my 10/100/1000 switch.

Now that I have also tested the AUI to 10 base T adapter and I know it works, I need to see if I can make that work directly to my switch and bypass the hub entirely.

I can ping inside and outside my network now, so the gateway is also working.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10763
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: A5000 - diving in at the deep end!

Post by rubber_jonnie »

Quick update. Works over AUI too :)
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
HigashiJun
Posts: 1270
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:21 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: A5000 - diving in at the deep end!

Post by HigashiJun »

:cheers:
Steve
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: A5000 - diving in at the deep end!

Post by Steve »

I was just curious about whether there were Daynaport scsi/ethernet drivers for RiscOS but I can't find any reference anywhere. Which is a shame. The BlueSCSI-v2 now supports Daynaport/scsi-ethernet over Wifi, so it's a perfect little device for any retro SCSI machines for both hard disk and internet.
User avatar
alexh
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:51 pm
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: A5000 - diving in at the deep end!

Post by alexh »

Good stuff.

My A5000 is still non functional but I was considering if it ever could be resurrected making a new podule with Wifi using a uController such as RPi nano W or ESP32 etc. with some level shifters. An open source podule design already exists but it is only for 8-bit podule (due to the limitations of the GPIO on the uController they used. You'd really want a 16-bit podule.
Principal ASIC Engineer - SystemVerilog, VHDL
Thalion Webshrine - http://thalion.atari.org
STf,STfm,STe,MegaST,MegaSTe,Falcon060
A500+,A600,A4000/060,CD32,CDTV
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10763
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: A5000 - diving in at the deep end!

Post by rubber_jonnie »

Steve wrote: Thu Nov 09, 2023 2:41 pm I was just curious about whether there were Daynaport scsi/ethernet drivers for RiscOS but I can't find any reference anywhere. Which is a shame. The BlueSCSI-v2 now supports Daynaport/scsi-ethernet over Wifi, so it's a perfect little device for any retro SCSI machines for both hard disk and internet.
Honestly, I doubt it, at least not for RiscOS 3.1 like I have. You may have better mileage with later versions.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10763
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: A5000 - diving in at the deep end!

Post by rubber_jonnie »

alexh wrote: Thu Nov 09, 2023 2:43 pm Good stuff.

My A5000 is still non functional but I was considering if it ever could be resurrected making a new podule with Wifi using a uController such as RPi nano W or ESP32 etc. with some level shifters. An open source podule design already exists but it is only for 8-bit podule (due to the limitations of the GPIO on the uController they used. You'd really want a 16-bit podule.
Oh no, what'a wrong with it, I can't recall? That sort of thing would be brilliant since network podules are so hard to come by and expensive.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10763
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: A5000 - diving in at the deep end!

Post by rubber_jonnie »

Good news (Yes more!!)

After getting things working with the bare uniboot supplied by CJE, I thought I have to try again with my original as I rather like my customised desktop.

So, I deleted the !Boot file from my drive, and copied in a backup of my original SCSI drive contents, including the !Boot file from before, and rebooted. Great, my original desktop is back.

I then dropped in the skeleton boot provided by CJE, configured networking as before, saved and rebooted, and voila, all working and I have my original customised desktop and networking.

Not sure why it didn't work the very first time I tried this, but I don't much care!!!

Woop.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
Post Reply

Return to “MEMBER BLOGS”