Hello from Belgium

New user? Tell us about yourself!
wanman

Hello from Belgium

Post by wanman »

Hello everyone,
During my holiday break at the end of '21 I stumbled upon some repair videos on Youtube, related to fixing an Atari ST.
Watching the machine working again brought back memories from years past.
I was so intrigued that I searched for more videos related to the Atari ST, and was positively surprised there is quite an active community.
Found the atari-forum site, looked around and signed up ... and then later I found this place.

Hi, my name is Daniel, proud owner of an Atari 520STFM.
In the late 80s, as a student, I bought the machine with money earned from my first job during the summer-holidays.
Had it upgraded to 1MB the next year. Then, yet another year or so later, purchased a Megafile 60.
Had loads of fun playing around mainly with STOS and all kinds of magazine cover disks.
After graduating in '92 I got side-tracked into the PC world. Probably like so many others.

All my Atari stuff was gathering dust at my mother's house. Until I was bitten by the nostalgia bug from watching the Youtube repair videos.
During one of my visits to my mother I took the opportunity to gather all the Atari material. Wife was not thrilled me taking all this "garbage" home.

In the meantime the 520 has been switched on. All seems to be working. Floppy drive spinning and reading old disks with no issues.
The mouse needed some cleaning. As for the monitor, a Philips CM8833 (original, not Mk2) isn't displaying properly.
It shows a white image, but you can't make much of it as it seems to have trouble with horizontal and/or vertical sync.
It probably needs some solder joints being reflown, maybe some recap, or its flyback replaced ... or all of the above.
As of writing I am in the process of replacing the flyback and the HOT, and the notorious broken power switch.