Raven. A homemade Atari-like computer

A homemade Atari-like computer based on 68060 and various Atari ST like peripherals
User avatar
kodak80
Posts: 422
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane,QLD Australia
Contact:

Re: Raven. A homemade Atari-like computer

Post by kodak80 »

agranlund wrote: Mon Dec 30, 2024 5:30 pm Doom with music support:
https://github.com/agranlund/pmdoom/releases/tag/latest

It plays Midi by default, but if you prefer Adlib and have a compatible soundcard then you can start with -adlib for the nostalgia :)

I hope I didn't break SoundFX playback now that I rearranged the sound-system to decouple Sfx and music drivers. I have no way of telling on the Raven yet, but it would be neat to make sound work next.

Some kind of "dumb" Atari sound DMA driver to get at least some existing applications working in an unoptimised way.
And then later invent something to make it easy to take advantage of all the neat stuff a GUS can do.
Doom could easy preload _all_ of its SoundFX into GUS-RAM making sound playback practically free.
Just tried the new doom. MIDI audio working fine through my PicoGUS v2. :) But no SoundFX.

EDIT: The initial testing was on EmuTOS and this is working fine with Audio but no SoundFX. The new DOOM.GTP does not work under my FreeMint. It starts to initialize but then does not load the window with Doom running. I reverted back to the previous version, and this is working under FreeMint. I Spent a couple of hours playing Doom 1 under EmuTOS with the MIDI music playing.
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Creator of the Atari ST Review magazine archive: https://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review
User avatar
agranlund
Site sponsor
Site sponsor
Posts: 1179
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Raven. A homemade Atari-like computer

Post by agranlund »

Interesting that it didn't launch in Mint for you. I wasn't able to repro that here with neither 1.16+N.AES or 1.19+XaAes.
I've uploaded new versions of both Doom and Tyrian, but I have no idea if that fixes the issue you had in Mint.

Doom:
- music tempo fix under mint
- adlib detection fix under mint
- added WASD controls and mouse no longer moves the character (ie; modern day fps controls)

Tyrian:
- adlib music playback
DrZiplok
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2023 2:03 am

Re: Raven. A homemade Atari-like computer

Post by DrZiplok »

agranlund wrote: Tue Dec 10, 2024 12:59 am EmuTOS's mono driver is now disabled and the boot rom is now instead taking care of setting up an equivalent resolution.
That should, in theory, work with any card that claims to be VGA compatible so if you have something that is not ET4000 or Mach it'd be interesting to hear the result.
Works:

Code: Select all

ATI Mach32
	GRAPHICS ULTRA PLUS, BIOS P/N 112-18900-102
	2M display memory
ET4000AX
	TsengLab Int'l ET4000 XL BIOS Date : 02/06/92
	1M display memory
CL-GD5426
	ASL Lightining 2, BIOS UD03S
	1M display memory
CL-GD5429
	Quadtel BIOS CL-GD5429-1.00I
	1M display memory
CL-GD5434
	Diamond Speedstar 64, BIOS v2.01
	2M display memory
Failed:

Code: Select all

Trident TVGA8900D
	Trident BIOS C4.5
	1M Display memory
	Display is banded vertically, bbbb----bbbb---- etc. with 'b' being an expected pixel and '-' being blank.
luciodra
Site sponsor
Site sponsor
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2024 1:59 pm
Location: Rome

Re: Raven. A homemade Atari-like computer

Post by luciodra »

At the moment, the best Freemint setup for my 68060 LC is the one for the basic, clean 68000. In this way I can use a lot of software in a stable way, apart from the damn network card, which flashes but doesn't want to know about reaching the outside world...
My question is, isn't there a way to just activate MMU usage without having to mix distributions? Because by doing it I always get continuous crashes. :roll:
User avatar
agranlund
Site sponsor
Site sponsor
Posts: 1179
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Raven. A homemade Atari-like computer

Post by agranlund »

I wasn't going to do anything more with ScummST but it turned out a pretty good testbed for toying with Soundblaster stuff.
... so here's the final final (probably) build of it for SDL / Raven.
scummst_sdl.zip
(1.39 MiB) Downloaded 5 times
There's now an option to select Soundblaster in the sound settings.
It'll expect the card to be somewhere in the port range 220-280
(I have my Soundblaster configured to sit on port 280 to avoid colliding with the GUS which I have on 220)

Oldskool
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2020 12:23 pm

Re: Raven. A homemade Atari-like computer

Post by Oldskool »

Coooool.
I thought SB would not work.
User avatar
agranlund
Site sponsor
Site sponsor
Posts: 1179
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Raven. A homemade Atari-like computer

Post by agranlund »

Oldskool wrote: Wed Jan 01, 2025 8:53 pm Coooool.
I thought SB would not work.
Yeah that's pretty awesome!

ISA-DMA is not supported but operating the Soundblaster in Direct-DAC mode worked great, I never tried that before :)
This mode is not optimal from a performance point of view but that hardly matters for this use-case.

ScummST already supported playing samples on YM/Covox/Cartridges so it was impossible to resist trying to add Soundblaster Direct-DAC - 90% of the code is shared across all of those.
User avatar
agranlund
Site sponsor
Site sponsor
Posts: 1179
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Raven. A homemade Atari-like computer

Post by agranlund »

luciodra wrote: Wed Jan 01, 2025 6:41 pm At the moment, the best Freemint setup for my 68060 LC is the one for the basic, clean 68000. In this way I can use a lot of software in a stable way, apart from the damn network card, which flashes but doesn't want to know about reaching the outside world...
My question is, isn't there a way to just activate MMU usage without having to mix distributions? Because by doing it I always get continuous crashes. :roll:
I don't think the 68000 kernel knows about memory protection and the 68040/60 MMU.

Regarding the network card, if you do the bare minimum MiNT network setup/test what do you get?
(replace 192.168.0.1 with your router IP, and 192.168.0.211 with the IP you want to assign the network card)

Code: Select all

ifconfig en0 addr 192.168.0.211 netmask 255.255.255.0 up
route add default en0 gw 192.168.0.1
then verify that the card is there:

Code: Select all

ifconfig
... you should see the en0 device in the printed info ....

try pinging your router:

Code: Select all

ping 192.168.0.1
... should see replies from the router (assuming you haven't told the router to block ping from inside your local network) ...

try pinging outside world

Code: Select all

ping 8.8.8.8
... should see replies from google...
snap006.jpg
snap006.jpg (82.17 KiB) Viewed 109 times
User avatar
agranlund
Site sponsor
Site sponsor
Posts: 1179
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Raven. A homemade Atari-like computer

Post by agranlund »

DrZiplok wrote: Tue Dec 31, 2024 10:01 pm Failed:

Code: Select all

Trident TVGA8900D
	Trident BIOS C4.5
	1M Display memory
	Display is banded vertically, bbbb----bbbb---- etc. with 'b' being an expected pixel and '-' being blank.
Ah! I ordered one of those 8900D's a while back, should be interesting to see if I get the same behaviour here if or when it finally arrives :)
luciodra
Site sponsor
Site sponsor
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2024 1:59 pm
Location: Rome

Re: Raven. A homemade Atari-like computer

Post by luciodra »

agranlund wrote: Thu Jan 02, 2025 9:55 am
try pinging your router:

ping 8.8.8.8
IMG_1784.jpg
IMG_1784.jpg (339.81 KiB) Viewed 67 times
Post Reply

Return to “RAVEN 060 - A homemade Atari-like computer”