Strange STe link wire

The place to ask all those likely daft questions!
Badwolf
Posts: 1313
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: Strange STe link wire

Post by Badwolf »

wub wrote: Fri Jul 29, 2022 11:05 pm If I run the new STe version of Lotus Turbo Challenge I get a couple of problems. The chip music will drop out after a while and not come back, while the samples carry on playing correctly. By this point the graphics on screen are starting to corrupt, a flashing line under each car that gets 1 vertical row taller each level, and the background has horizontal rows of corrupt data that get worse each level too.
Do you by chance have the STE with the integrated blitter, ie. U101 is unpopulated?

BW
DFB1 Open source 50MHz 030 and TT-RAM accelerator for the Falcon
DSTB1 Open source 16Mhz 68k and AltRAM accelerator for the ST
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
FrontBench The Frontier: Elite 2 intro as a benchmark
wub
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2022 10:25 pm

Re: Strange STe link wire

Post by wub »

@Badwolf No, my STe is the same as this one: viewtopic.php?f=51&t=4718

The only difference is that the link on the bottom is flapping around freely as it doesn't have the blobs of glue holding it to the board.

Do you have problems running Lotus Turbo STe too?
wub
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2022 10:25 pm

Re: Strange STe link wire

Post by wub »

@exxos Thanks for the suggestion about replacing my CPU, I've looked at the ones you're selling and it sounds like a really good idea. I'll put an order in before the weekend!
Badwolf
Posts: 1313
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: Strange STe link wire

Post by Badwolf »

wub wrote: Tue Aug 02, 2022 8:34 pm @Badwolf No, my STe is the same as this one: viewtopic.php?f=51&t=4718

The only difference is that the link on the bottom is flapping around freely as it doesn't have the blobs of glue holding it to the board.

Do you have problems running Lotus Turbo STe too?
No, or at least I don't know: I'll be honest, I've not got around to trying it.

I was thinking it sounded a bit blitter-ish, and it put me in mind of a different issue.

Have you tried removing and cleaning the blitter chip itself, spraying the socket with contact cleaner and reseating a few times?

BW
DFB1 Open source 50MHz 030 and TT-RAM accelerator for the Falcon
DSTB1 Open source 16Mhz 68k and AltRAM accelerator for the ST
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
FrontBench The Frontier: Elite 2 intro as a benchmark
wub
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2022 10:25 pm

Re: Strange STe link wire

Post by wub »

If you haven't tried the special Lotus Turbo STe version you're in for a treat! :)

As for the chips, I found that they are all really tough to get out, so I let them be for now. I would have expected some sort of flaky behaviour, particularly when it warms up, if something like that was going on?

I like the idea of running a lower power 68k CPU so I'm going to give that a try anyway. If things are still not 100% then I may get brave and try re-seating everything.. I'd feel happier doing that if I had another spare ST to use if things go wrong!
Badwolf
Posts: 1313
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: Strange STe link wire

Post by Badwolf »

wub wrote: Tue Aug 02, 2022 9:25 pm I like the idea of running a lower power 68k CPU so I'm going to give that a try anyway. If things are still not 100% then I may get brave and try re-seating everything.. I'd feel happier doing that if I had another spare ST to use if things go wrong!
I was focusing more on the Lotus problem, but if the sound is knackered in Frontier too it's likely a different problem (or possibly two problems).

Good luck!

BW
DFB1 Open source 50MHz 030 and TT-RAM accelerator for the Falcon
DSTB1 Open source 16Mhz 68k and AltRAM accelerator for the ST
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
FrontBench The Frontier: Elite 2 intro as a benchmark
wub
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2022 10:25 pm

Re: Strange STe link wire

Post by wub »

Yeah, you're right. I wonder if that funky factory mod to the sound chip has something to do with it all..

Anyway, thanks for your advice! :)
Post Reply

Return to “NOOB QUESTIONS”