Clock patch V2 and V4 installation questions:

The place to ask all those likely daft questions!
Post Reply
User avatar
Swissfalcon
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2024 9:37 pm

Clock patch V2 and V4 installation questions:

Post by Swissfalcon »

Hi,
I'm trying to understand exactly what are the exact steps to install the V2 and the V4 patch, mainly to decide which one I will choose (based of course of the difficulty and my skills), and I have one question:

On the V2 installation page, just after the 4th wire installation, there is this line:
Also a modification to the falcon needs to be done and shown HERE
but when I click this link, it show me the original clock page section. Is this a fault in the redirection, and it was mean to show the "V2 & V3 MANDATORY MODIFICATION" part, or is this another modification that is needed?

Just to summarise and to see if I understood everything correctly:

V2 installation:
1. solder the board over U63
2. remove R216, R221 & R222
3. solder the 4 wires to the pads
4. solder a 100K resistor on the bootleg track and connect the white wire to 0V on Ajax

nothing else?

V4 installation:
1. solder the board over U63
2. remove R216, R221 & R222
3. solder the 4 wires to the pads
4. solder in the 100pF at the bottom for the FPU
5. do the SDMA mod (cut the bootleg trace, apply the 68R resistor and connect the 47Pf between the 68R and 0V Ajax)

I ask, because you say that the V4 is much more difficult to install, but to me, the seems to be the same difficulty (the part near the SDMA being the most difficult).

Thanks for your help!
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24275
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Clock patch V2 and V4 installation questions:

Post by exxos »

V4 final build only needs the cap on the FPU. IIRC.

Though my patches are more complicated than the generic Atari types and clones as mine fix more problems, so they are harder to install.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Swissfalcon
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2024 9:37 pm

Re: Clock patch V2 and V4 installation questions:

Post by Swissfalcon »

exxos wrote: Sun Jul 07, 2024 3:23 pm V4 final build only needs the cap on the FPU. IIRC.
oh! But the one actually on the shop isn't the final build, right? So, better for me to wait the final version? When will it be available?

And what about the link in the v2 installation manual that point to the Atari patch?
On the V2 installation page, just after the 4th wire installation, there is this line:
Also a modification to the falcon needs to be done and shown HERE
but when I click this link, it show me the original clock page section. Is this a fault in the redirection, and it was mean to show the "V2 & V3 MANDATORY MODIFICATION" part, or is this another modification that is needed?
otherwise, is my summary correct for the installations steps?

Thanks
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24275
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Clock patch V2 and V4 installation questions:

Post by exxos »

Swissfalcon wrote: Sun Jul 07, 2024 4:25 pm oh! But the one actually on the shop isn't the final build, right? So, better for me to wait the final version? When will it be available?
The one in the shop is the final build.
And what about the link in the v2 installation manual that point to the Atari patch?
It's hard to check right now as I'm not at home on weekends to look properly at it all. But likely was a link I forgot to update to point to
https://exxosforum.co.uk/atari/last/fal ... .htm#V2MOD
otherwise, is my summary correct for the installations steps?
It looks correct. But it's hard to remember every single upgrade and all the install steps. So it's better to look on the install pages on what's needed. But they are pretty similar I think anyway.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Swissfalcon
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2024 9:37 pm

Re: Clock patch V2 and V4 installation questions:

Post by Swissfalcon »

exxos wrote: Sun Jul 07, 2024 5:07 pm The one in the shop is the final build.
ok

It's hard to check right now as I'm not at home on weekends to look properly at it all. But likely was a link I forgot to update to point to
https://exxosforum.co.uk/atari/last/fal ... .htm#V2MOD
ok, make sense, this is what I tought. Thanks
It looks correct. But it's hard to remember every single upgrade and all the install steps. So it's better to look on the install pages on what's needed. But they are pretty similar I think anyway.
Ok. I think then I will go for the V4. There is one thing that still confuse me right now (sorry)

The installation steps on the dedicated web page for the V4 tell that the caps for the FPU and the SDMA mode are needed. But you just wrote before that the final version of the V4 clock patch don't need the SDMA mod:
V4 final build only needs the cap on the FPU. IIRC.
So, what is the correct installation method? With or without SDMA mode?

Thanks for the clarification :-)
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24275
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Clock patch V2 and V4 installation questions:

Post by exxos »

The correct install for the v4 is as shown on the website. You need to exactly follow what is written.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Swissfalcon
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2024 9:37 pm

Re: Clock patch V2 and V4 installation questions:

Post by Swissfalcon »

so, with SDMA mod then. I understand that the statement "V4 final build only needs the cap on the FPU" is an error, correct?
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24275
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Clock patch V2 and V4 installation questions:

Post by exxos »

Swissfalcon wrote: Sun Jul 07, 2024 5:46 pm so, with SDMA mod then. I understand that the statement "V4 final build only needs the cap on the FPU" is an error, correct?
I was referring more to the level of difficulty between the V2 and V4. In terms of parts, be it resistors or caps on the SDMA, the level of difficulty makes no odds, it's the same. You still have to cut the bootleg track and fit parts. The only real difference is the V4 needs a cap on the bottom of the FPU.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Swissfalcon
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2024 9:37 pm

Re: Clock patch V2 and V4 installation questions:

Post by Swissfalcon »

oh, ok. Thanks
Post Reply

Return to “NOOB QUESTIONS”