Hatari on Atari

The place to ask all those likely daft questions!
Post Reply
User avatar
chronicthehedgehog
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun May 08, 2022 6:11 pm
Location: The Midlands
Contact:

Hatari on Atari

Post by chronicthehedgehog »

Medmed is posting some nice looking SDL1 ports of games over on AF and it got me thinking.

Being too scared to post such a noob question over there I thought I'd ask here :D

Is the 060 or PiStorm for that matter, powerful enough to run Hatari compiled for SDL1? I have neither so can't try it myself.

ST games running in Hatari, in a window on an ST might be too much to comprehend :D
Steve
Posts: 2650
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Hatari on Atari

Post by Steve »

There's a better alternative, agranlund created a kind of virtual machine emulator. So it uses the real 68k CPU, no emulation needed. It runs on Mint I think.
User avatar
chronicthehedgehog
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun May 08, 2022 6:11 pm
Location: The Midlands
Contact:

Re: Hatari on Atari

Post by chronicthehedgehog »

Steve wrote: Wed Nov 15, 2023 1:01 pm There's a better alternative, agranlund created a kind of virtual machine emulator. So it uses the real 68k CPU, no emulation needed. It runs on Mint I think.
I was mulling the question over (and how daft it was :D) when I was making lunch and something along those lines occurred to me. I've probably read about that before but the significance of it didn't hit home at the time.
User avatar
chronicthehedgehog
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun May 08, 2022 6:11 pm
Location: The Midlands
Contact:

Re: Hatari on Atari

Post by chronicthehedgehog »

:cheers:

I'm looking forward to trying that out one day
User avatar
alexh
Posts: 750
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:51 pm
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: Hatari on Atari

Post by alexh »

An interesting question for PiSTorm owners. I imagine that the CPU power might unlock several 8-bit emulators that previously were unuseable.
Principal ASIC Engineer - SystemVerilog, VHDL
Thalion Webshrine - http://thalion.atari.org
STf,STfm,STe,MegaST,MegaSTe,Falcon060
A500+,A600,A4000/060,CD32,CDTV
User avatar
stephen_usher
Posts: 5797
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: Hatari on Atari

Post by stephen_usher »

Technically with a 68030 and above with an MMU you could write a hypervisor giving the virtual machine a virtual address space and running privileged code sections in a CPU instruction simulator, catching any access to hardware etc.

In that way all non-privileged code would run at full speed, only the supervisor mode instructions would be slow.

You could even simulate the 68000 exception stack for the virtual machine/process.
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.
mikro
Posts: 490
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:22 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Hatari on Atari

Post by mikro »

@stephen_usher: yeah, that's like the imaginary holy grail of emulation on our small platform. It sounds great in theory but in practice it would be way less usable than you'd expect. Many games, demos basically switch to supervisor, access hardware directly (even for no or little reason) and after that the can of worms has been opened: sure, you could fake it, pretend that it's still user code and catch exceptions and blah blah, the point is, you wont get anywhere near a decent / smooth experience even on CT60.

What I think is a better way is to create a JIT compiler for given emulators: that way the CPU emulation burden nearly disappears and one can focus on optimising the hardware emulation, ideally using some hardware tricks the host provides.
Post Reply

Return to “NOOB QUESTIONS”